Australia Day

26 January 2015

92 days to go

Australia Day Awards

Australia Day AwardsOn Australia Day, local councils across Tasmania recognise the exceptional contribution of their community members with the presentation of Australia Day.

Awards - the highest honour a council can bestow.

Awards are typically presented in the following categories:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Community Event of the Year

The award ceremonies range from formal civic receptions to community BBQ breakfasts, but all ceremonies recognise and pay tribute to the work of special individuals in their local communities.

Do you know someone who deserves an award?  If so, contact your local council for a nomination form.


(recipients for 2015 will be posted following 26 January 2015)



Citizen of the Year

Young Citizen of the Year

Community Event of the Year

Break O'Day Council

 Julie Watkins

 Brittany Kate Smith


Brighton Council

 Mary Wood

 Brody Wylie


Burnie City Council

 Graeme Muir

 Kate Brett

 Burnie Musical Society - Les Miserables

Central Coast Council

 Terry & Doreen Leary

 Dean Mainwaring

Tasmanian Bushfire Appeal Family Fun Day

Central Highlands Council

 Raymond Edwards

Bella Darey, Holly Hack, Emma Mayne & Kayla Edwards

 Ouse and Highlands Regional Craft Fair

Circular Head Council

 Glen McLaren

 Emma-Kate Busscher

 Tour de Tassie

Clarence City Council

 Donald Mills

 Jerrick Johnson

 Bikes to Africa

Derwent Valley Council

 John Simpson

 Daniel Coppleman

 'Can Hope' Cancer Support Group

Devonport City Council

 Guy Carey

 Sharitah Syed-Rohan

 Rotary Club of Devonport North's Prostate Cancer Charity Golf Day

Dorset Council

 Patricia Young

 Sulemaan Kaiyum

 Scottsdale Pacing Club Cup

Flinders Council

Awards not given out on Australia Day



George Town Council

Harvey Gibbons

Shelby Miller

2013 Water Festival

Glamorgan-Spring Bay Council

 John Austwick



Glenorchy City Council

 Judi Adams

 Natasha Fitzpatrick


Hobart City Council

 Emily Conolan & Fayia Isaiah Lahai

 Laura Kay

 2013 Chinese New Year Festival

Huon Valley Council

 Craig Saunders

 Natalia Clark and Samantha Kluga

 Huon Expo

Kentish Council

Michael Meaney

Maurice Hays

Railton Tassie As Day

King Island Council

 Rod McGarvie

 Adrian (Billy) Vellekoop

 King Island Imperial 20

Kingborough Council

 Alexander 'Lex' McIndoe

 Damian Mazur

A Day on the Beach

Latrobe Council

 Laurence (Mick) Halley

 Grace Bell

Latrobe Lions Christmas Parade

Launceston City Council

 Mervyn Whybrow & Joan Green

 Adam Mostogl

 Simon's Ball

Meander Valley Council

Michael Heazlewood & Margaret Donovan

 Fraser Deeth

 Westbury Agricultural Society

Northern Midlands Council

 Peter Maher

 Chloe Pavia

175th Midlands Agricultural Show

Sorell Council

 Sue Birch

 Beth Van De Kamp

 Dunalley Winter Warmer

Southern Midlands Council

 Margaret Ball

 Lisa McConnon

 Melton Mowbray Rodeo

Tasman Council

 Marian Larner



Waratah-Wynyard Council

Charlotte Fielding and     Jeannie Jones

 Matthew Phillips

Lions Club of Wynyard Christmas Parade

West Coast Council

 Rosie Wedd



West Tamar Council

 Robyn Barnet

 Jayden Pearson

 The 100th Exeter Show

To see a list of previous Council Awards Recipients, please click of the links below: