On Australia Day, local councils across Tasmania recognise the exceptional contribution of their community members with the presentation of Australia Day awards.

Awards are typically presented in the following categories:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Community Event of the Year

The award ceremonies range from formal civic receptions to community BBQ breakfasts, but all ceremonies recognise and pay tribute to the work of special individuals in their local communities.

Do you know someone who deserves an award?  If so, contact your local council for a nomination form. 


 2019 Award Recipients


Citizen of the Year

Young Citizen of the Year

Community Event of the Year

 Other Awards

Break O'Day Council

Melanie Norton

April Bromley

Municipality Excellence Award (Joint)

Sally Felmingham and Stephen Jones


Mayors Special Award

Margaret Torrens

Mayors Young Citizen Special Award

Ebony Duke

Community Service Award

Jessie Presnell

Brighton Council

Mr Steven Bennett

Mr Jordon King

Brighton Show

Volunteer of the Year

Mr John Fehlberg

Burnie City Council

Mr John Packham


Mr Kynan West

51st Burnie City Eisteddford


Central Coast Council

Joint Citizens

Shirly Good and Lionel Bonde


Ms Esther Shurley

North West Motorcycle Show






Circular Head Council

Jenny Poke

Brianna Hite

Devil Country Muster

Senior Citizen of the Year

Eric Marshall

Clarence City Council

Kerry Scambler

Emma-Lee Dalgliesh


Eastlands Santa Parade

Senior Citizen of the Year 

Joint Winners

Robin Pulford and Shirley Morrisby

Derwent Valley Council

Martyn Evans


 Alesha Moles

New Norfolk Christmas Group

Sports Team of the Year

New Norfolk Cricket Club

Junior Sports Person  

Lauren Banks

Devonport City Council

Margaret Fay

Joint Citizens

Mr Chaz and Kai Wilson

2018 Toast for Kids Charity Gala Event


Dorset Council

Ann Speers

Lucy Partridge

Tom Quilty Gold Cup Endurance Ride

Volunteer of the Year Dorset Community House Community Transport Drivers

Sports Award             Miles Smith

Flinders Council

Do not award Australia Day awards




George Town Council

Mr Kevin Ellis

Mr Jye Marshall

Wings and Things 

Service to the Community                   Peter Pirzl

Glamorgan-Spring Bay Council

Joint Citizens             Helen Preston and Beverly Yates

Thomasa Corrie



Glenorchy City Council





Hobart City Council

Joint Citizens           Adrian Howard OAM and Graeme Morris

Mr Matthew Etherington

Point to Pinnacle


Huon Valley Council



Kentish Council

Mavis and Tommy Huett

Tom Rockliff

2018 Australian Master Rowing Championships

Local Hero Award    

Annette Mace and Anne Williams (Allnet Balloon Creations), Basil Kleijnendorst, Craig Davey, Dianne Sharp, Margaret Hughes, Mark Beach-Ross and Penny Lane. 

King Island Council




Kingborough Council

Do not award Australia Day awards




Latrobe Council

Wayne Jaffray

Ashtyn Dennison

Latrobe Cemetery Working Bees


Launceston City Council

 Denise Delphin


2018 Tamar Community Peace Festival


Meander Valley Council

Mr Bryan Watson

Kate Sheahan

Rotary Club of Deloraine Learn to Swim Program

Sports Award                Daniel Gurr

Northern Midlands Council

Linus Grant

Thomas Dwyer

Rossarden & Friends Kids Christmas Party


Sorell Council

Emma Keating and Graeme Evans

Toby Whitton

South East Suns WFC Truck Show

Community Group of the Year                        

Carlton Park Surf Life Saving Club Nippers Program

Southern Midlands Council

Mrs Gabrielle Watkins

Miss Ashley McOrist-Mitchell

Heritage & Bullock Festival


Tasman Council




Waratah-Wynyard Council

Chris Symonds

Madeline Wells

Kirk Dicker Crazy Craft Race 

Mateship Award

Rhondry Robinson and Rhys Linden

West Coast Council

West Coast Spirit

Duncan Murfet

Robert Butterfield

Tullah Progress Association





West Tamar Council

Mr Nigel Burch

Ms Rose Donnelly

Book Week Celebrations

Young Sportsperson of the Year                       

Sam Clifford

Mayors Award            

Brian and Mary Bates



Recipients for 2019 will be posted following 26 January 2019. To see a list of previous Council Awards Recipients, please click the links below:

2018 Awards Recipients

2017 Awards Recipients

2016 Awards Recipients

2015 Awards Recipients

2014 Awards Recipients

2013 Awards Recipients

2012 Awards Recipients