The Australia Day Ambassador Program provides a unique opportunity for Tasmanians to meet inspirational Australian achievers.

On Australia Day, Ambassadors travel to communities across the state to spread the message of national pride at various celebrations. Ambassadors participate in local activities, assist with the presentation of local awards and deliver a short speech on what being Australian means to them.

Across the country over 350 councils hosted an Ambassador on Australia Day.

Ambassadors are recruited from diverse fields such as the arts, sport, science, business, government and entertainment. They can be of any age, but they all share the common traits of achievement through hard work, talent, and a strong sense of patriotism. All act in an honorary capacity, giving freely of their time to help celebrate our National Day.

Tasmania’s 2017 participating councils and their Ambassadors:

Break O'Day CouncilJo PalmerFun in the Sun: Australia Day Celebrations
Brighton CouncilMaja VeitAustralia Day Awards and Citizenship Ceremony
Central Coast CouncilBianca WelshAustralia Day Breakfast by the Leven
City of LauncestonRobert RavensAustralia Day Citizenship and Awards Ceremony
Clarence City Council Adam MostoglAustralia Day Breakfast on the Bellerive Boardwalk
Derwent Valley CouncilDana FaleticDerwent Valley Council Australia Day Celebrations
Devonport City CouncilTom DunbabinDevonport Australia Day Awards and Citizenship Ceremony
Dorset CouncilAndrew HughesAustralia Day Civic Ceremony and Bridport Splash
George Town CouncilSally WiseGeorge Town Awards Ceremony and Family Fun Day
Glamorgan Spring BayDiana ButlerGlamorgan Spring Bay Council Australia Day Awards Presentation
Glenorchy City CouncilBrian RitchieGlenorchy Australia Day Celebrations
Huon Valley CouncilGwen EggBreakfast by the River in Franklin
Kentish CouncilPosie Graeme-EvansKentish Australia Day Breakfast
King Island CouncilRob PennicottKing Island Australia Day Celebrations
Latrobe CouncilJohn XintavelonisHenley-on-Mersey
Northern Midlands CouncilDr Christina HenriNorthern Midlands Council Australia Day Awards Presentation and Activities
Sorell CouncilWilliam (Bill) LarkAustralia Day Awards Presentation Event
Southern Midlands CouncilEmily ConolanSouthern Midlands Council, Australia Day Awards Presentation
Waratah-Wynyard CouncilJane HutchinsonAussie Breakfast and Australia Day Awards
West Tamar CouncilRebecca CuthillAustralia Day Awards and Citizenship Ceremony